My Old Computer Desk

Don’t look so sad, come on!
What?
Who said I’m going to use you to build campfire this weekend?
Don’t even dream of that.
You’re special, and will remain so forever; and you know this quite well.

Grandma brought you for me on my birthday.
Still remember how glad I was to possess you!
You looked so elegant, so sturdy!
I still find you elegant and beautiful!

But, look you need repair.
Moths have caused you some damage;
You make creaking noise at the slightest touch, and
The cabinet’s got to be mended too.
I’m afraid if you’re not repaired you might just crumble on the floor anytime.

Look, I want to get you fixed up with some best quality wood, and by the hands of some real good woodworker!
But, that’s going to be a bit pricey!
So, I’ve got this cheap and not-so-good and urgently needed computer desk to replace you!

Meanwhile, I’m sending you on a vacation.
Wouldn’t you like to know where?
To the attic!

But you don’t need to worry  as I’m going to get you back here soon.
And I promise that you’re going to get stronger and more elegant than you were ever before!

So, will you now stop staring so hard at me?

desk-1148994_640.jpg


Inspired by The Daily Post’s one word prompt, Replacement
Photograph by Unsplash, courtesy of Pixabay.com

3 Comments

  1. I really liked the poem. Very kind and gives hope for better days 🙂 Favorite things very dear and we can not part with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

